To Stephen Ackles it has always been a dream to record a non-typical Christmas anthem. Not too jolly, but a classic tune that allows us a glimpse at both sides of Christmas time. Stephen Ackles‘ brand new single ‘Melancholy Christmas’ will be out on November 19. The single will be released as a limited edition on 7’’ vinyl, and on iTunes, Spotify, and Wimp as well.

For ‘Melancholy Christmas’ and its’ B-side ‘In The Winter’ Stephen joined forces with guitarist and producer Dagfin Hovind. Together they recorded the two songs at Stephen’s home, using acoustic instruments like violin, cello, upright bass and a grand piano next to drums and guitars. “It was a lot of fun to see the house turn into a recording studio and it reminded me of Elvis Presley’s Jungle Room Sessions”.

Stephen Ackles’ comeback album ‘For More Than Only Tonight’ earlier this year was celebrated as the ‘best album in Ackles’ career’ and his performance of ‘Satan’ at Trygdekontoret has been regarded as being the best musical performance on Norwegian Television in a long, long time. With the new Christmas single Stephen will conclude his triumphant year in style.

With his new record label Ackles has already released two singles and a full length album within one year. Stephen replies: “I feel that I’ve grown up musically at last. This is a new chapter in music for me and as a matter of fact, we are already working on new material for spring 2014”.

But first let’s celebrate and enjoy coming Christmas with these new songs.

We wish you a merry and “Melancholy” Christmas


Credits: Melancholy Christmas

Music by Dagfin Hjorth Hovind and Lasse Saurbrey

Words by Laurence Clasby

Produced, arranged, engineered and recorded by Dagfin Hjorth Hovind

Mixed by Maarten Tap @studio Jottem, Wormerveer

Mastered by Wim Bult @Inline Mastering

Videoclip by Ezhno Studios

31days records


Stephen Ackles

Lead vocals

Dagfin Hjorth Hovind

Electric guitars, acoustic guitars, baritone guitar, percussion, backing vocals, harmonica

Lars Nygaard

Fender Bass

Geir Digernes


Espen Sannerud

Hammond C3 Organ, pump organ, upright piano

Liv Leiva

Lasse Saurbrey

Bjorge Verbaan

Backing vocals

Milutin Petrovic